OWEA Scholarship Details

OWEA offers scholarships to its members and their dependents.  Scholarships up to $1,000/ academic year towards undergraduate college tuition from an accredited Oklahoma University may be awarded to OWEA members and/or their dependents.  Awards are based on available funds that the OWEA Board chooses to allocate to this program. There is no guaranteed number of scholarships.  Candidates may apply each year they are in college.

"*" indicates required fields

Eligibility Requirements


Should there be dedicated scholarship funds remaining after awards to all eligible applicants in 1) and 2) above, OWEA will consider awarding scholarships to students enrolled in any accredited Oklahoma higher education institutions, including advanced degree programs. These awards will be considered on a first-come basis. To be considered the student should follow the “Procedure to Request Scholarship”.

Procedure to Request Scholarship

The student may apply for this scholarship by submitting proof that they meet the eligibility requirements. At a minimum, the following pertinent information must be submitted to the Scholarship Committee Chairman.

Max. file size: 2 MB.
Max. file size: 2 MB.
Max. file size: 2 MB.
Max. file size: 2 MB.

OWEA Scholarship Rating System

The scholarship committee reviews applications, certifies to the Board that candidates meet all eligibility requirements and that candidate’s career goal is consistent with OWEA’s vision. In case where multiple candidates are certified, the scholarship committee will rank the applicants by summing points from the following three criteria:

Year in College

Senior – 4 pts

Junior – 3 pts

Sophomore – 2 pts

Freshmen – 1 pt.

Student or Guardian
Longevity with OWEA

10 Years – 4 pts

5 to 10 years – 3 pts

2 to 5 years – 2 pts

1 to 2 years – 1 pt.

Student’s College GPA
(4-point system)

3.5 – 4.0 – 4 pts

3.0 – 3.5 -3 pts

2.5 – 3.0 2 pts

High School GPA – 1 pt.

The Scholarship Committee shall be appointed by the OWEA president and consist of three current or past Board members.

For Scholarship information please contact: Tom Krueger (Chair)

Phone:  918.227.5310  

If you have questions please email:

Thanks to Haynes Equipment Company for their contribution to the OWEA Scholarship Fund.

Past Scholarship Awards

Alea Smith – 2005, 2011, 2012

Nicholas Halsmer – 2007, 2008

Blake Smith – 2009

Nathan Poole – 2014

Moriah Hayes – 2015

Cole Niblett – 2016

ChaeWoon Yoo – 2018

Victor Mavika – 2018

ChaeWoon Yoo – 2019

Taylor Thomas – 2019

Anna Mueller – 2019

Stockholm Junior Water Prize

The purpose of the SJWP is to increase students’ interest in water-related issues and research and to sensitize them – as future leaders- to global water challenges. The competition for the SJWP award is open to projects aimed at improving the quality of life through the improvement of water quality, water resources management, water protection, or water and wastewater treatment.

State Competition

OWEA will select a water-related science fair project to represent Oklahoma at the Stockholm Junior Water Prize competition.  OWEA will sponsor the student by providing airfare and WEF will cover the costs of the hotel and most meals.  It’s a great opportunity to encourage and recognize students who are interested in water-related studies.


  1. The U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize competition is the world’s most prestigious water-science competition for high school students. It is open to public, private, or independent high school students in grades 9-12, that have reached the age of 15 by Aug. 1 of the competition year, and have conducted water-related science projects. Any student who meets the above criteria may enter, including public high schools, private schools, homeschools, and independent projects not associated with a school.


  2. Judging criteria is the same as national criteria. To learn more or sign up for alerts,

Previous Oklahoma SJWP Winners


State Stockholm Junior Water Prize Recipient


Hayley Han Li, Bartlesville








Brandon Fimple, Vinita (National winner)


Molly Steen, Grove


Molly Steen, Grove


Hanah Huling, Ada


Gregorye Epperson


Jenna Huling, Ada


Nick Shepherd, Miami


Paige Parrack, Oklahoma City


Jenna Huling, Ada


Leah Huling, Ada


Gage Holleman, Tulsa


Sarah Riley, Grove


Lexi Hill, Edmond


Liza Williams, Bartlesville


Braden Milford, Tulsa (National Winner)


Maha Achour, Bartlesville


Luke Wilson, Tulsa